History: The Wilton House was built in the 1860s by Rawson Fuller. GH Bass purchased the Fuller Home and used it as a boarding house for the shoe manufacturer’s employees. The boarding house was closed in 1945. GH Bass gave the house to the Wilton Historical Society in 1987 so that it may become a museum.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes tools used in farming, blacksmithing, and shoe-making, the history of the giantess Sylvia Hardy, and a Camp Kineowatha history collection. Artwork by Joe Knowles and a collection of Wilton Academy artifacts are also on display. There is also a collection of vintage GH Bass memorabilia, textiles, and furnishings.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The museum’s featured and special exhibit is the Maine bottle collection. The bottle collection was donated by locals and is a permanent exhibit. Local community events, including a blueberry festival and paranormal tours, are held throughout the year. See the website for upcoming events.
Tours: Guided tours are available. Contact the museum to arrange a tour.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open seasonally, July and August on Saturdays from 1 PM - 4 PM.
Admission: Contact the Wilton Farm and Home Museum for admission information.