SUMMARY: Whitlocks Mill Light is a lighthouse on the St. Croix River's south bank in Calais, Maine. It is the northernmost lighthouse in MaineĀ and the state's last lighthouse to be built. The lighthouse remains an active aid to navigation. The light was added to the National Register of Historic Places as Whitlocks Mill Light Station on January 21, 1988.
MORE INFORMATION: Whitlock's Mill Light Station Facts & Figures
- Station Established: 1892
- First Lit: 1910 (Current Tower)
- Construction: Material - Brick with Ceramic Tile Lining |Ā Shape - Cylindrical Tower
- Markings:Ā White with Black Lantern
- Operation: Automated - 1969
- Height: Tower - 25 FeetĀ |Ā Focal Plane - 32 Feet
- Range: 6 Nautical Miles (6.9 Miles)
- Optics: Original - Fourth-Order Fresnel LensĀ |Ā Current - Solar Powered VLB-44 LED (2009)
- Characteristic: Three seconds green alternating with three seconds of darkness
- Other Existing Buildings: 1910 Keeper's House, 1931 Fog Bell Tower, 1910 Oil House, Storage Building
- Current Ownership: St. Croix Historical Society
- Maintenance & Preservation: St. Croix Historical Society
Visitor & Tour Information: The St. Croix Historical Society owns the tower, but the house is privately owned. The grounds, dwelling and tower are closed to visitors. Since the keeper's house is a private residence, the best place to view the lighthouse is from a roadside picnic area along Route 1, about 2.5 miles south of Calais. The tower's original fourth-order Fresnel lens is on display at the Maine Lighthouse Museum in Rockland, Maine.
Lighthouse Trivia: The lighthouse is named after Colin C. Whitlock, a local who tended the lantern that preceded it. Whitlock also owned a mill nearby, which is why it was named "Whitlock's Mill."