SUMMARY: The Greenville Junction Depot is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is a one-story, wooden railway station that served as a popular Maine railway depot for over 75 years. The building features a cone-shaped roof which many refer to as the “witch’s hat”. The depot is undergoing major refurbishment and restoration.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Canadian Pacific Railroad built the Greenville Junction Railroad Depot in 1889. The railroad was added to over the years, including the famous witch's hat structure. The depot was in service from 1889 to 1965. In 2010, a group called the Greenville Junction Depot Friends started fundraising to restore the original depot. The Depot Friends host events throughout the year and continue to fundraise to raise money for refurbishment.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: Events are held throughout the year. Check the website for upcoming events. Past events included an Annual Depot Celebration, Track Side Tea Party, Art shows, barbecues, and more.
Season/Hours of Operation: Contact the Greenville Junction Depot Friends for information regarding visits to the Depot.
Admission: Free, donations are accepted.