SUMMARY: The Sound Schoolhouse is a community-centered meeting place that is used for events like dances, dinners, and sales. The Ralph W. Stanley Library is also located in the schoolhouse and has a collection of historical documents and books.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Sound Schoolhouse first opened in 1892. It catered to children of the small village of Somes Sound and was used as a school for 34 years. The school closed in 1926. In 1999, the Mount Desert Island Historical Society acquired the schoolhouse and transformed it into a community gathering place.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes school memorabilia from the one-room schoolhouse. The Ralph W. Stanley Library has historical objects related to the town and documents. A permanent exhibit called The Village of Sound and Island Schools details the history of the schoolhouse and its restoration by the Historical Society.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The Mount Desert Island Historical Society holds dances, dinners, tag sales, and other community events at the schoolhouse.
Tours: Contact the Mount Desert Island Historical Society to schedule a tour.
Season/Hours of Operation: The Sound Schoolhouse is open year-round by appointment. Contact the Mount Desert Island Historical Society to schedule an appointment.
Admission: Free, donations are accepted.