SUMMARY: The Rumford Area Historical Society preserves the history of Rumford, Maine through a museum and archive. The museum has a wonderful local artifact collection as well as a microfilm collection of the Rumford Falls Times newspapers. The Historical Society’s archive is located at the Rumford Town Hall. The museum is excellent for those interested in local history, genealogy, or research.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Rumford Area Historical Museum opened in 1976. The museum was formerly called the Lufkin School Museum.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes photographs, vintage tools, old-fashioned toys, kitchenware, school memorabilia, local artifacts, a country store exhibit, and more. The Rumford Falls Times newspaper is also on microfilm and includes newspapers from 1794 to modern times. There is an archive of genealogical and town documents located at the Rumford Town Hall.
Tours: Contact the Rumford Area Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Contact the Rumford Area Historical Society for up-to-date hours for the museum. The archive located at the Town Hall is open year-round on Thursdays from 9 AM - 2 PM.
Admission: Free.