History: Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s family vacationed on the popular Campobello Island every summer throughout his childhood. The cottage was originally owned by a family friend and when she passed away in 1908, FDR's mother purchased the cottage as a belated wedding gift for FDR and Eleanor. The Hubbard Cottage, Prince Cottage, and the Wells-Shober Cottage were all constructed in the late 19th century.
Collections and Highlights: The Roosevelt Cottage is decorated as it was in 1920 when the Roosevelts frequented the home. It includes memorabilia, original furnishings, and decor. The Marine Life Interpretation Center has interesting displays about marine life such as whale biology, the conservation of marine life, and the history of the Bay of Fundy. Observation decks overlooking the water and beautiful gardens are highlights for many visitors.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: Eleanor’s Tea is a popular program held at the park. This program details Eleanor Roosevelt’s life while visitors sip tea and snack on cookies. Tea is offered twice daily, at 10 AM and 2 PM EST, by advanced reservation or ticket purchased at the Visitor Center. Other special events are available throughout the open season, including musical performances. Check the website’s calendar for upcoming events.
Tours: Tours of Roosevelt Cottage are available every 15 minutes beginning at 9:15 AM EST. Tours of the Hubbard, Prince, and Wells-Shober Cottages are self-guided during the park’s open hours.
Season/Hours of Operation:
- Park: Open seasonally from late May to mid-October.
- Historic Buildings: Open 9 AM - 5 PM EST
*Note: Campobello Island goes by Atlantic Time*
Admission: Free.