SUMMARY: The Page Farm and Home Museum is a great place to learn about Maine's industry, economy, and home life from 1865-1940. The museum is located on the University of Maine campus in Orono. The museum features a post and beam barn, a schoolhouse, a carriage house, and a blacksmith shop. Outside, visitors can enjoy the scenic quarter-acre garden with flowers, herbs, and vegetables.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Maine Experiment Station barn was built in 1833 and is the last original agricultural building at the University of Maine. The barn was sold a few times and eventually, in 1867 it was bequeathed to the University of Maine and renovated by a faculty member. Although the buildings were on display and artifacts were collected for many years, the official Page Farm and Home Museum was established in 1994.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes farm equipment and agricultural artifacts from Maine. The Maine Experiment Station Barn has many local historical photographs, musical instruments, old-fashioned jugs, furnishings, textiles, and telephones. The schoolhouse is set up as an original schoolhouse with desks, chairs, and blackboards. The carriage house has tractors and farming tools on display for visitors to explore.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The museum holds events such as a potato sale, making your own crafts and household items, St. Distaff’s Day, Maple syrup day, a holiday shop, and more. Check the calendar for upcoming events.
Tours: Guided tours are available for schools.
Season/Hours of Operation:
- Wednesday - Saturday 10 AM - 3 PM
Admission: Contact the museum for admission information.