SUMMARY: The Olson House is a historic home that’s owned by the Farnsworth Art Museum. It’s located off-site in Cushing, Maine. The house was an inspiration for Andrew Wyeth’s watercolor and tempera paintings. The house is now on the list of the National Register of Historic Places and is a designated National Historic Landmark.
MORE INFORMATION: History: Captain Samuel Hathorn IV designed and built the house in the late 1700s. Various seafarers and captains inhabited the home through the 1800s. In 1929, siblings Christina and Alvaro Olson inherited the house and lived there for the remainder of their lives. Famous artist, Andrew Wyeth, was a family friend and neighbor of the Olsons. Wyeth often visited the home and even made the upstairs into his own art studio. It is from this house that Wyeth beautifully depicted the Maine seascapes. In 1991, the Olson House was given to the Farnsworth Art Museum by its owners, John and Lee Adams Sculley.
Collections and Highlights: The Olson House is a historical home that is furnished to replicate how the home looked when Christina and Alvaro Olson and their friend Andrew Wyeth inhabited the home. There are a few original furnishings and photographs within the house, but for the most part, it is empty and the natural beauty of the landscapes from the windows depict the inspiration for Wyeth’s artwork.
Tours: Check the website for up-to-date information on tours.
Season/Hours of Operation: Check the website for hours of operation.
Admission: Check the website for admission information.