SUMMARY: The Observer Building is known for its one-of-a-kind flat iron architecture. It is located right at a triangular intersection in downtown Dover. Those interested in local history will find many artifacts, documents, and newspapers. The building also appeals to those interested in the unique architecture of historical buildings. The downtown location makes it easy to access and visit.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Observer Building was built in 1854 and was originally called the Flat Iron building. It was a tenement house when it first opened. The building changed hands many times over the years and became a home and storefront. In 1905, it became known as the Observer Building when the Piscataquis Observer newspaper moved into the building. In 1996, the building was deeded to the Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society.
Collections and Highlights: The bottom floor of the building is the museum, which holds many photographs, newspapers, local artifacts, and memorabilia. Local historical records and objects are also on display. The second floor of the building is typically not open to the public and is used for storage and archives.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: Contact the Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society for exhibitions and events.
Tours: Contact the Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open seasonally, in the summer on Thursdays, or by appointment. Contact the Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society for hours of operation.
Admission: Free