History: Reuben Newcomb built the Kinsley House in 1794 and later, in 1800, Martin Kinsley purchased the house and added an addition to the front. After 1800, the house was a shop and birthing home. The Kinsley House also has a carriage house that was restored in the 1980s. It was purchased in 1981 by the Hampden Historical Society. The Hannibal Hamlin Law Office was home to Vice President Hannibal Hamlin. The law office was detached from the house structure in 1987 and moved to its current location. Also on-site, the blacksmith shop was originally a railroad section house and was relocated to its current location.
Collections and Highlights: The Kinsley House has original windows, pine floors, doors, fireplaces, and chair rails. The collection includes clothing from the 1800s-1900s and military uniforms from WWI to the present day. Household furnishings from the 1700s-1900s. A Boston boat collection, quilts, and musical instruments. The carriage house holds sleighs, wagons, tools, and antiques. Documents include diplomas, books, trolley tickets, and maps. The law office holds a collection dedicated to the life and history of Hannibal Hamlin. The blacksmith shop has a collection of hand tools that blacksmiths frequently used in the 1800s. The shop is only open during special events.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The Hampden Historical Society holds fun community events like the Annual Christmas Bazaar,
Tours: Contact the Hampden Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open on Tuesdays from 10 AM - 3 PM.
Admission:Â Free