History: The Ethel ‘Red’ Smith House was built in 1832 and is one of the older homes in Fryeburg. The Fryeburg Historical Society purchased the home to use as a museum and archive. The Historical Society was established in 1974.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes town papers, postcards, maps, obituaries, cemetery inscriptions, letters, diaries, paintings, and historical artifacts about Fryeburg. The Ham Research Library is open when the museum is and features monographs, biographies, maps, newspapers, microfilm, and genealogical resources. Off-site, the Fryeburg Historical Society collaborated with Hazel and Owen Currier for the creation of a Doll Museum. The Doll Museum features over 10,000 dolls and is located just down the road at 103 Lovell Road in Fryeburg.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The Fryeburg Historical Society participates in community events such as monthly community suppers.
Tours: Contact the Fryeburg Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open seasonally from April to November. Contact the Fryeburg Historical Society for official opening/closing dates.
- Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 10 AM - 2 PM.
Admission: Free