History: The First Parish congregation dates back to 1750 when the original church was built at the Kennebunk River. A new church was built for the congregation in 1774 in the current location on Main Street. In 1803, a tower and steeple were added to the church.
Over the years, the church was not just for the congregation. The building served as a library and a town hall, a community gather place, and small performance venue. A Paul Revere Bell was added to the church in 1804 and an E. Howard Round Top Clock was added in 1883. A Hook
Collections and Highlights: The First Parish has a Paul Revere Bell which is connected to the E. Howard Round Top Clock, and a Hook & Hastings Organ inside the church. The architecture includes original windows, a mahogany pulpit, original pews and other Federal style details.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The congregation holds many events including a drum circle, coffee socials, painting, meditation, Alcoholics Anonymous meetings and much more. Check the event calendar for up-to-date events and programs.
Tours: For a personal tour, contact the office to schedule a visit.
Season/Hours of Operation: The First Parish church is open on Sundays for worship at 10am.
Admission: Free, donations are always welcome.