SUMMARY: The Farmington Historical Society preserves the history of Farmington in its museum at Titcomb House. The Titcomb House has town artifacts, documents, and a research center for visitors, classes, and organizations. In addition to the Titcomb House Museum, the Historical Society owns the North Church and Octagon House in Farmington. Local history lovers will surely enjoy a visit to the three sites that the Farmington Historical Society maintains.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Farmington Historical Society was established in 1961. The Historical Society maintains the Titcomb House Museum, the North Church, and the Octagon House. The Titcomb House Museum was built in 1846 and is the Historical Society’s museum and research center. The North Church was built in 1873 and can be rented as a meeting room or event space. The Octagon House was built in 1858 and is one of only 19 octagon houses remaining in Maine. It is currently under renovation but can be rented for events.
Collections and Highlights: The collection in the Titcomb House includes photographs, maps, genealogical documents, town documents, and artifacts.
Tours: Contact the Farmington Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open seasonally from May through October.
- Fridays, 10 AM - 2 PM.
- Also, open by appointment.
Admission: Free