History: The farmhouse, which is now home to the museum, was built in 1812 by Humphrey Merrill Jr. It was home to the Leighton and Axelsen families and then owned by Dr. David Andrews. In 2004, the house was donated to the Falmouth Historical Society and was moved to its current location. The museum opened to the public in 2008.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes many artifacts. Highlights include a 1924 REO fire truck, and a milk wagon from the late 1800s. Also included in the collection are vintage toys, photographs, bottles, tools, kitchen items, furnishings, and more. There is also a genealogical research library that holds many town documents, maps, and family histories.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The museum sometimes holds temporary mini-exhibits depending on community donations. The Falmouth Heritage Museum hosts many community events. Past events included a holiday mix and mingle, fireworks, a flag-raising ceremony,
Tours: Contact the Falmouth Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Typically open from June to October on Tuesdays from 9 AM - 3 PM. Also, open by appointment. Check the website for official opening/closing dates and hours.
Admission: Free