SUMMARY: The Dr. Job Holmes Cottage depicts a home and doctor’s office in 1850. In the 1800s, doctors like Dr. Job Holmes, practiced medicine right in their house. The Cottage has original furnishings in the home part of the cottage and vintage medical equipment in the doctor’s office. Visitors can explore what 1800s medicine was like and learn about life as a doctor in 1850.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The Dr. Job Holmes Cottage is thought to have been built in the 1790s. Dr. Job Holmes was the third doctor who ran a practice from the house. The two doctors that preceded him were Shilometh Whipple and Cyrus Hamlin. Dr. Holmes lived in and practiced medicine in the cottage until 1850. In 1850, he decided to build a larger structure right next door, known as Holmestead. The buildings are now owned and operated by St. Croix Historical Society.
Collections and Highlights: The collection includes medical equipment, photographs, vintage furniture, and articles of clothing. The architecture of the building showcases original woodwork and door locks, a chimney, and fireplaces. The doctor’s office part of the home contains doctor’s books, medical kits with original medicine, Civil War kits, a wooden wheelchair, and a dentist's chair.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: Check the website for any upcoming events or programs.
Tours: Contact the St. Croix Historical Society to set up a tour with a docent.
Season/Hours of Operation: Open seasonally from July - September. Check the website for official opening/closing dates.
Admission: Free