SUMMARY: Dice Head Lighthouse is located in Castine, Maine. First established in 1829, the light was deactivated in 1937 and replaced by a skeleton tower to the south. That structure was destroyed by a storm in 2007 and the old light was reactivated in 2008.The site is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing property to Castine Historic District.
MORE INFORMATION: Dice Island Light Station Facts & Figures
- Station Established: 1829
- First Lit: 1829
- Construction: Stone with Brick Lining  | Shape - Rubble Tower
- Markings:Â White
- Fog Signal: None
- Operation: Deactivated - 1937Â |Â Reactivated - 2008
- Height: Tower - 51 Feet | Focal Plane - 134 Feet
- Range: 11 Nautical Miles (13 Miles)
- Optics: Original - Fourth-Order Fresnel Lens | Current - 250mm Plastic
- Characteristic: Flashing white every six seconds
- Current Ownership: Town of Castine
- Maintenance & Preservation: Town of Castine
Visitor & Tour Information: The lighthouse grounds are open to the public during the day, however the lighthouse and keeper's house is not as it is a private residence. There is a public path leading to a viewing area.
Directions: Take Route 175 South from Route 1 in Orland. Route 175 turns left after about eight miles. Keep straight onto Route 166. After about one mile, turn right onto Route 166A. Take Route 166 at the next intersection and continue into Castine. Turn right onto Battle Avenue (at a golf course). Follow Battle Avenue for about a mile past the Maine Maritime Academy to the lighthouse on your right. There is limited parking available.
Lighthouse Trivia: The Dice Head Lighthouse was constructed to assist seafarers entering the Penobscot River to Bangor, the principal lumber port.