SUMMARY: The Clifton Historical Society’s mission is to preserve local Clifton, Maine history. The Historical Society owns and manages a few properties in town. The most notable properties are the Harold Allan School and Cliffwood Hall. Visitors can take a step back in time and visit the one-room schoolhouse to get an idea of what small-town education was like in the mid-1800s. Next, head over to Cliffwood Hall and explore the collection of local historical artifacts.
MORE INFORMATION: History: The one-room schoolhouse known as the Harold Allan School was built in 1863. It was used until 1966 and then Clifton's school system consolidated with other local towns. The school was acquired by the Clifton Historical Society in 1999. Cliffwood Hall was built in 1892 and was a town community building, mainly serving as a local government town hall, and was obtained by the Clifton Historical Society in 1999.
Collections and Highlights: The Harold Allan School has original school desks, flags, a globe, photographs, a piano, and agricultural tools on display. Cliffwood Hall holds a small collection of 1800s historical artifacts pertaining to the Clifton area.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The Clifton Historical Society holds community events such as pumpkin sales, yard sales, and open houses. Check the Facebook page for upcoming events.
Tours: Contact the Clifton Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Contact the Clifton Historical Society for official hours of operation.
Admission: Free