SUMMARY: The Fort Sullivan Barracks Museum is an original military fort building. Visitors can explore British military history, local Eastport civilian history, and the fishing industry’s history.
MORE INFORMATION: History: From 1814 to 1818, the British occupied Eastport, Maine at their base, which they called Fort Sullivan. The use of Fort Sullivan ended in 1873 and it was disassembled. One part of the fort, known as The Barracks, was preserved and moved to its current location in Eastport.
Collections and Highlights: The Barracks Museum holds an extensive collection of the military history of Fort Sullivan. The collection also includes stories of American civilians who lived in the Eastport area during the American Revolution. Sardines and fishing were lucrative industries for early Eastport residents. Eastport was known as the “Sardine Capital of the World” and the museum holds the history and stories of the fishing industry.
Exhibitions, Events & Programs: The Historical Society holds events and programs throughout the year, including reenactments. Check the website for upcoming events.
Tours: Contact the Eastport Maine Border Historical Society for tour information.
Season/Hours of Operation: Contact the Eastport Maine Border Historical Society for information regarding hours of operation.
Admission: Free