SUMMARY: Avery Rock Light was located on Avery Rock in Maine's Machias Bay. It was constructed on a 110-metre-long, 48-metre-wide rocky islet in the center of Machias Bay that was only accessible by boat. The old light was a square tower with a gallery and lantern centered on the keeper's home that was constructed in 1875. The lighthouse was automated in 1926, but sustained irreparable storm damage in 1947, resulting in its removal. Later, the lighthouse was reconstructed as a 13-foot (4.0-meter) skeleton tower with a 17-foot (5.2-meter) focal plane that generates a white flash every six seconds.